

# NDA Board Meeting Minutes

December 8, 2014

## Attendees

#### **Board Members Present:**

- Katie Miller, President
- Melissa Ward, Secretary
- Kathy Hanford

Since a quorum of 2014 board members is NOT present, this meeting is primarily informational and contains no motions to vote.

#### **Board Members Absent:**

- Briana Bartlett, Vice President
- Tish Gade-Jones, Treasurer
- Tillie Jones, Junior Representative
- Dara Liss
- Jane Fucinaro
- Laura Stueck

#### **NDA Members Present:**

- Laureen Van Norman
- Gracia Huenefeld
- Heidi Helmer
- Emily Johnson
- Jenae Tilford
- Joni Tilford

Call to Order

President Katie Miller called the December meeting to order at Parker's Smokehouse in Ashland at 7:02 pm.

## Meeting the Members

Outgoing 2014 board members and incoming 2015 board members introduced themselves.

**President:** The roles of the President were described for the group, which include the administration of monthly board meetings, arbitration of political issues, and general administration of group business. Melissa Ward will be taking this role over from Katie Miller on Jan. 1. Katie confirmed that she is going to give out the president's award before the end of 2014.

**Vice President:** Responsibilities of the Vice President were described for the group, which include management of the year-end banquet, and the responsibility of taking over business decisions when the president is unavailable. Jane Fucinaro will be taking over this role from Briana Bartlett on Jan. 1.

**Secretary:** The roles of the Secretary were described for the group, which include taking meeting minutes and maintaining any group documentation. Heidi Helmer will be taking over this responsibility from Melissa Ward on Jan. 1. Melissa will send a Google Drive template for meeting minutes to Heidi.

**Treasurer:** The roles of the Treasurer were described for the group, which include maintenance and documentation of the group bank accounts, reimbursing NDA members for NDA business expenses, and formulating a budget for the year. Kathy Hanford will be taking over this role from Tish Gade-Jones on Jan. 1. Kathy will work with Tish independently to transfer all necessary documents and information.

## **Committee Reports**

The group reviewed each committee and outlined who will be the chairpersons for each in 2015. The committees consist of the following:

Membership: Diana Spaulding will remain as Membership Committee chairperson.

**Competitions:** Mike Smith and Jennifer Rawlinson will be co-chairs for the Competitions Committee. Amy Blum will remain as a supporting committee member.

**Awards:** Laureen Van Norman will be the chairperson of the Awards Committee, with committee members Kathy Hanford, Karin Nilsson, and Jami Kment.

**Communications:** The Communications Committee is being combined with the Publicity Committee, resulting in the elimination of this committee going forward.

**Publicity:** There is no single chairperson for the Publicity Committee, however the responsibilities break down as follows: Jane Fucinaro is the newsletter editor; Jenae Tilford is willing to contribute to social media; Melissa Ward will continue managing and sending member email communications.

**Fundraising:** Gracia Huenefeld is taking over as Fundraising Committee chairperson. Jane Fucinaro is a supporting committee member. Gracia will continue to solicit new members for the committee.

**Equipment Management:** Ken Timmerman will remain as Equipment Manager.

**Education:** Jane Fucinaro is the Education Committee chairperson, with committee members Heidi Helmer and Angie McClelland.

# Next Meeting Scheduled

The next meeting will be January 12, 2015, 6:30 pm at Misty's Steakhouse (Havelock) in Lincoln, NE.

# Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 8:45 pm.

Respectfully submitted by:

Melissa Ward NDA Secretary, 2014